Skip To Content
Novi Public Safety Recognizes Staff at Annual Award Ceremony
Published: 5/9/2023
Featured Image

On May 4th, the Novi Police and Fire Departments held their Annual Awards Ceremony to celebrate accomplishments and recognize professional achievements of those who serve to protect the community.

“It is an honor to be able to recognize the dedication and accomplishments of the men and women of the Novi Public Safety Team,” notes Director of Public Safety and Chief of Police Erick W. Zinser. “Our teams work tirelessly, day in and day out, to protect the citizens of this great community.  They don’t do it for awards or medals, but rather because they each have a calling to serve and to protect.  This our way as an administration, and as a community to simply say thank you for all that you do.”

The City of Novi congratulates all who received recognition.
A list of recipients follows:
Merit Citation
Police Officer Erik Rockwell
Life Saving Award
Police Officer Steve Finlayson
Police Officer Eric Tobey
Fire Captain Charlie Roberts
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (M.A.D.D.) Award
Police Officer Andrew Toth
Life Saving Award
Auxiliary Firefighter Jeff Franklin
Fire Protection Officer Nathan Ryan
Fire Captain Remo Oliverio
Paramedic Brandon Tubek (Superior Ambulance)
Emergency Medical Technician Lexa Schocke (Superior Ambulance) 
Life Saving Award
Fire Lieutenant Matthew Blamy
Firefighter William McGary
Fire Lieutenant Brian Luke
Police Officer Eric Tobey
Police Officer Florina Ivezic
Paramedic David Goodwin (Superior Ambulance)
Paramedic Andrew Heyniger (Superior Ambulance)
Life Saving Award
Firefighter Troy Racicot
Fire Lieutenant Vincent Schira
Fire Lieutenant Brian Luke
Paramedic Jordan Blaszyk (Superior Ambulance)
Emergency Medical Technician Daniel Petersen (Superior Ambulance)
Merit Citation
Police Lieutenant Keith Wuotinen
Life Saving Award
Police Officer Baha Almufti
Police Officer Adam McGee
Fire Captain Remo Oliverio
Firefighter George Paterni
Firefighter Jose Vilanueva
Public Safety Dispatcher London Almufti
Life Saving Award
Police Sergeant Mark Boody
Police Sergeant Kyle Smith
Police Officer Katlyn Courtney
Police Officer Trevor Lossos
Police Officer Jacob Roberts
Police Officer Eric Tobey
Police Officer Andrew Toth
Police Officer Joseph Mathews
Advanced Education Degree
Fire Captain Todd Seog
Department Citation
Firefighter Nathan Ryan
Police Staff and Command Award
Police Lieutenant Rachel Meier

Lori Karlow
Public Safety Volunteer of the Year
Lori Karlow
Jeana Sharma
Public Safety Civilian Employee of the Year
Public Safety Dispatch Team Leader Jenea Sharma
Shawn Penzak
Lee C. BeGole Police Officer of the Year
Detective Shawn Penzak
Sean Krabach
Firefighter of the Year
Firefighter Sean Krabach